Monday, July 17, 2006



Soundtrack release from Sony Classical August 8th

(Hollywood, CA) Golden Globe winning film composer Craig Armstrong delivers a haunting score to Paramount Pictures' "World Trade Center." Oliver Stone directs the true story of John McLoughlin and William Jimeno, two police officers who became trapped under the rubble of the World Trade Center after the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Nicholas Cage and Michael Pena star as the two officers. The film opens August 11th, and Sony Classical releases the score August 8th. Stone has won several Academy Awards and Golden Globe Awards for his films, which include "Natural Born Killers," "JFK," "Born on the Fourth of July" and "Midnight Express." This is the first time Stone and Armstrong have worked together.

Craig Armstrong, a graduate of the Royal Academy of Music, has composed, arranged, produced, and performed a multitude of respected works. He began his professional music career with the group The Big Dish, performing on keyboard, writing, and arranging; this led to arranging assignments for artists including Massive Attack, U2, and Madonna. Later, Armstrong became composer in residence at Glasgow's Tron Theatre Company, writing commissioned pieces for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

In the last ten years, Armstrong has composed extensively for film. He won a Golden Globe and was named AFI's Composer of the Year for his score to Baz Luhrman's musical "Moulin Rouge," starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. His work on the Ray Charles biographical film, "Ray," earned him a Grammy for Best Score Soundtrack Album. His other credits include "The Quiet American," "Plunkett and Maclean," and "Love Actually."

In addition to his film scores, Armstrong has released three solo albums: "The Space Between Us," "As If To Nothing," and "Piano Works." Most recently, his new musical trio "The Dolls" released its first self-titled album. Currently, his music can be heard as part of an exhibit at Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow. He will perform with a full orchestra October 19th in Belgium at the 33rd Flanders International Film Festival, incorporating several of his popular film scores.

Track Listing:

1. World Trade Center Cello Theme
2. World Trade Center Piano Theme
3. New York Awakes
4. The Drive Downtown
5. Rise Above The Towers
6. World Trade Center Choral Piece
7. John & Donna Talk About Their Family
8. Ethereal
9. John’s Woodshed
10. Marine Arrives At Ground Zero
11. Will And Allison In The Hospital
12. Allison At The Stoplight
13. Jimeno Sees Jesus
14. John And Will Found/Will Ascends
15. John’s Apparition
16. John Rescued/Resolution
17. Elegy
18. Ethereal Piano Coda

World Trade Center Original Soundtrack by Craig Armstrong from